Crew 222's
Home Page
Highest Awards
Oval Office
Our Charter
What is a Crew
About our Crew
Join Our Crew!
Getting Started
Be Prepared
Oath, Law, Motto
School Calendars
O.A. Lodge
Venturing Awards
Scouting Links
Advisor Training
M.B. Training
Crew Literature
Weather (Now)
"Backpacker Page"

Venturing Crew 222
(Dunedin, Florida)
ScoutLander Contact Our Crew Member Login

Venturing Summit Award

The Summit Award is the highest award for youth in the Venturing program of the Boy Scouts of America. It requires Venturers to earn the Pathfinder Award, participate in adventures, and demonstrate leadership, service and personal growth.

The Summit Award replaced the Silver Award on June 1, 2014, with the Silver Award discontinued as of December 31, 2014.

Venturing Ranger Award

To earn the Ranger Award, Venturers must complete requirements similar to Merit Badges, although they are more difficult to complete. There are eight requirements, called Core Requirements, that must be earned by all Ranger Candidates. In addition, a Venturer must complete four out of eighteen requirements, called Electives.

Core Requirements

To earn the Ranger Award, all Venturers must complete the following requirements:

  1. First Aid
  2. Communications
  3. Cooking
  4. Emergency Preparedness
  5. Land Navigation
  6. Leave No Trace
  7. Wilderness Survival
  8. Conservation


To earn the Ranger Award, Venturers must earn four of the following:

  1. Backpacking
  2. Cave Exploring
  3. Cycling/Mountain Biking
  4. Ecology
  5. Equestrian
  6. First Aid (Different from the Core Requirement)
  7. Fishing
  8. Hunting
  9. Lifesaver (Lifeguarding)
  10. Mountaineering
  11. Outdoor Living History
  12. Physical Fitness
  13. Plants and Wildlife
  14. Project COPE
  15. Scuba
  16. Shooting Sports
  17. Watercraft
  18. Winter Sports

Venturing Silver Award

The Silver Award was the highest award in the Venturing program of the Boy Scouts of America from1998 through 2014. It required Venturers to first earn one of five Bronze Awards, earn the Gold Award, have one year's tenure in a crew, and fulfill requirements relating to emergency preparedness, leadership skills, and ethics-in-action.

The purpose of the Silver Award was to:

  • Provide a pathway for personal development.
  • Encourage Venturers to learn, grow and serve.
  • Recognize the high level of achievement of Venturers who acquire Venturing skills.
  • Identify trained and highly motivated Venturers who will be a training, leadership, and program resource for other Venturers, Scouts, organizations, and the community.
  • Help define Venturing.

Crew 222 members who have earned this award:

Louis J. Mihalinec Jr. IV - August 18, 2014 
Brianna Smyth - December 08, 2014
Hunter C. Mihalinec - December 15, 2014


The Eagles Nest (Eagle Award)

 As an Eagle Scout, 


may you spread your wings and soar to
the highest heights; leading and setting a
cheerful example of
honour, courage, loyalty and service. 


Eagle Scout is the highest rank attainable in the Boy Scouting program. 
The fact that a boy is an Eagle Scout has always carried with it a special significance, not only in Scouting but also as he enters higher education,
business or industry, and community service.  Not every boy who joins a
Boy  Scout troop earns the Eagle Scout rank; only about 5 percent of all
Boy Scouts do so. This represents more than 1.7 million Boy Scouts who
have earned the rank since 1912. 

Only 2 out of 100 boys that join Scouts will earn the rank of Eagle Scout. 
The title of Eagle Scout is held for life, thus giving rise to the phrase
"Once an Eagle, always an Eagle".

Troop/Crew 222 Eagle Scouts:

Troop 222

Michael Sparks -August 13,2007
Barry Niemann Jr. - July 12, 2010
Zachary J. Ferguson - January 10, 2011
Louis J. Mihalinec Jr. IV. - October 10, 2011

Crew 222

Hunter C. Mihalinec - February 08, 2016

Wesley E. Finch - June 10, 2016

Troop/Crew 222 Adults Who Are Eagle Scouts:

Mr. Christoper Eliadis - December, 2005 

Mr. Matthew Laverdure - October, 1995 

Famous Eagle Scouts:

Neil Armstrong - Apollo 11 Astronaut and first man to walk on the moon

Gerald Ford - US President and first Eagle Scout to become President

James Stewart - Academy Award winning Actor

Ross Perot - Texas billionaire and Presidental Candidate

Willard Marriott - President of Marriott Hotels

James Lovell - Gemini and Apollo 13 Astronaut

Walter Cronkite - National New and TV announcer

Henry Aaron - Baseball player, home run king

William Devries - M.D., transplanted first artificial heart

Donald Rumsfeld - Secretary of Defense

Steven Spielberg - Movie producer

Sam Walton - Founder, Wal-Mart

L. Ron Hubbard, Writer

William C. Westmoreland, Retired General

Girl Scout Gold Award